Skip to content

Soup kitchen: Thai noodle soup.

May 10, 2011

I literally had the worst day of my PhD so far yesterday. Ok, not quite as bad as the day I arrived when no one knew who I was, not even UCT and I realised that I wasn’t going to get paid for 2 months…but still, there was matlab, it was horrid.

After going home for a bit of a cry, I decided that culinary therapy was required! I half craved thai chicken curry…but we had no chicken….maybe a chicken noodle soup…despite my insistent cravings there really was no chicken in the house and the open-late convenience store doesn’t do free range, so chicken was out! After a day like I’d had though, I wasn’t about to let go of my one source of comfort! So I put together this recipe, perfect comfort food and made from all store cupboard essentials!

Thai noodle soup

Serves 2, plus leftovers for 2 lunches.

Ingredients

500ml vegetable/chicken (if you have some left over from your last bird) stock
1 can coconut milk
2 tsp chopped preserved lemongrass (best way to keep it to hand at all times!)
2 tsp chopped preserved galangal (ginger, fresh or preserved will also suffice)
2 thai red chillies
2 potatoes chopped into 1cm(ish) cubes
2 chopped carrots (I “julienne” mine in the food processor)
1 small tin of sweetcorn/1 ear/1 pack of baby corn
1 onion
1 tbsp fish sauce
About a handfuls worth of pad thai noodles (check cooking time on yours).

To serve:
Small handful of chopped coriander
1 lime

Method

Place the stock in a large pan/wok and add the potatoes, onions, lemongrass and galangal, simmer for 10 mins or so, until the potatoes just start to go soft.
Add the coconut milk, noodles, chillies, fish sauce, sweetcorn and carrots and simmer until the potatoes and noodles are fully cooked. Season with black pepper to taste – hold the salt-I feel the fish sauce is enough.
Squeeze a quarter of lime over and sprinkle with coriander to serve.

Leave a Reply

