Skip to content

A double serving of sustainable seafood: WWF SASSI trailblazer chefs and Taste of Cape Town

April 7, 2014

Nothing makes me happier than when my two great loves of marine science and food come together. Ok maybe wine, wine makes me pretty happy too! So I was understandably very excited to be invited to the recent WWF Southern African Sustainable Seafood Initiative (SASSI) trailblazer awards at Harbour House, with wine supplied by Biodiversity and Wine Initiative partners.

I’ve been a long time supporter of SASSI, because of my love of the sea and of great sustainable food. Support for SASSI has lead to me explaining the dire state of our global fisheries resources and how to make more sustainable choices in the desert, at local markets and even on stage! As a result of this great initiative, I’ve made a commitment to only cook with green listed seafood – the most sustainable choice that you can make (made easy thanks to a lot of research from SASSI).

I don’t find this a particularly hard promise to keep, after all there are many great options available here in SA, and they fit really well in with my student budget. But I’m not trying to please the global market that visits Cape Town every time I step in to the kitchen. Now in their second year, the SASSI trailblazer awards were initiated to celebrate chefs who make the same promise I have; to only use green listed fish, and to champion sourcing and consumption of sustainable seafood by suppliers and customers alike.

This year a bunch of new chefs have been added to the trailblazer ranks, joining some of my favourite chefs and restaurants in what I would consider a must list for restaurants to visit in Cape Town. This years trail blazers are:

- Christiaan Campbell (Delaire Graff Estate Restaurant, Stellenbosch)
– Gregory Czarnecki (The Restaurant at Waterkloof, Somerset West)
– Franck Dangereux (The Food Barn, Noordhoek)
– Geoffrey Murray (Conrad Pezula Resort, Knysna)
– Christo Pretorius (Twelve Apostles Hotel, Cape Town)
– Ryan Shell (Haute Cabriere Restaurant, Franschhoek)
– Leigh Trout (Birds, Cape Town)
– Kobus van der Merwe (Oep ve Koep Kitchen, Paternoster)

The evening was great fun, with delicious food, amazing wine (my favourite Hamilton-Russell Chardonnay was a feature!) and many opportunities for networking. I caught up with some food blogger friends and discussed everything from rockets to school water quality projects with adventurer Ray Chaplin. All in all a fantastic evening and I would like to send a big thank you to WWF SASSI and everyone involved for the invite, I will definitely be visiting some of the trailblazers soon!

The trailblazer awards were followed this week by another opportunity to learn about cooking sustainable seafood at the annual Taste of Cape Town event. This year my good friend and SASSI manager, Janine Basson (you may remember her from my Women in Science feature) teamed up with one of last years trailblazer chefs Stefan Marais in the Pick n Pay Chef’s theatre. Stef is the chef at one of my favourite restaurants, The Brasserie and at Cape Town favourite, Societi Bistro. For Taste, he cooked up a delicious yellowtail fishcake with thai flavours, whilst Janine shared the SASSI message with a full audience. The fish cakes were delicious, and I particularly liked the use of papaya in a salad to accompany the fish. Stef had some great tips for the audience – use chunky bits of yellowtail to get the most flavour in your fish cakes and use local olive oil, you’ll get the best flavour and value for money! I will definitely be trying Stefs fishcake recipe for myself.

For more information on SASSI and their seafood lists (red, orange and green like a robot – it couldn’t be simpler) check out their website, SMS the name of a fish (0794998795) or download their app (available for android, blackberry and iOS)!

For great ideas on cooking with sustainable fish, check out these great recipes by local chefs, or have a look through my “Plenty more fish in the sea” tag here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2014 8:52 am

    Reblogged this on My Unqualified Opinion and commented:
    Love the WWF SASSI initiative! Great to see it making such a splash and being so well promoted in this article!

  2. April 8, 2014 10:09 am

    Brilliance!

  3. marianneevers38 permalink
    April 8, 2014 3:51 pm

    lovly blog sis .i fancy the fishcakes.x

Trackbacks

  1. A Tour Through Italy with Societi Bistro | Science, sightseeing and sustenance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

