Skip to content

Foodie new years resolutions

January 1, 2013

I’ve never really been one for new years resolutions, but 2012 was a little bit of a let down after the crazy excitement of 2010 and 2011, don’t get me wrong, there were plenty of highlights, but mostly the weight of PhD second year ground me, Ben and our friends down a bit. So I’ve decided to make a list of things I’d like to work on this year.

I’ll be continuing with my slow and steady fitness plan, after much success in 2012 with finally getting my arse off the couch and out trail running! To begin with I’ll be attending an Adventure boot camp, then I’ll be running the long races of the Cape summer trail series and the Two Oceans half marathon.

At some point I’ll probably try and finish this PhD too, but to keep me sane and healthy I’ve got a few things I’d like to work on in my food endeavors!

Salads: I love salad, but I find it hard to make a truly special one. After visiting the beautiful gardens of Babylonstoren and purchasing their book, named after their restaurant “Babel”, I’ve been inspired to experiment with different vegetables, dressing and protein combinations to make delicious, healthy salads. I’m also hoping to sign our house up for a Harvest of Hope veggie box.

Mushrooms: I love them, Ben hates them, I think this should probably change. Regardless, I need more of them in my life.

Sustainable seafood: Cooking with seafood is a relatively new thing for me, but you’ll have seen from various banners and blog posts that I’ve been involved with the South African Sustainable Seafood Initiative (SASSI). I’d like to up my commitment to this great initiative this year, to develop some lovely, home-style recipes to make the most of our great sustainable options in SA.

Tapas tuesdays: Ben and our good friend Janine are planning to play some gigs this year and so will be practicing at our house on tuesdays. I’ve decided this is a good opportunity for me to work on finger food/tapas type recipes, a style of social food that I really love.

Low budget and stress free eating: This year is likely to be one of the toughest of our lives, whilst Ben, myself and housemate Emily try and finish our PhD research. Funding will be running out, and time will be of the essence. I’m not happy for this to mean poor diets, so I’m going to be working on some recipes for simple, cheap food, that can be prepared quickly or in bulk, for those days where time and money are tight!

Beer and food pairing: Our fellow oceanographer Brett has recently started his own blog about the excellent variety of craft beer in Cape Town. Inspired by his trip to the Stone Brewing Company in the USA, Brett proposed that we do some beer and food pairing soon. I have some experience with food and wine pairing, so look forward to this new venture!

Watch this space for new recipes and foodie thoughts!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2013 2:57 pm

    food resolutions are more fun than PhD resolutions! 2012 for me was “food tourism” (I hunted down foodie places wherever I went) – I want to carry that into 2013.

  2. Sarah Howells (GF Blogger) permalink
    January 6, 2013 10:38 pm

    Like the sound of this, minus beer! I agree with the salads – I love them but they always seem to ‘samey’ – going to have to try to get creative!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,007 other followers

